Chiesa dei Santi Giuseppe e Pantaleone

The history of the Church of Saint Joseph and Saint Pantaleon

The construction of this church began in 1326 following a donation by the Lords of Spilimbergo to the Bishop of Concordia. They had donated the hospice (run by the Confraternity of the Flagellants at the time) and the surrounding land, where the church was built.
In 1327, it was consecrated and dedicated to St Pantaleon Martyr, and, although it was yet to be completed, it was entrusted to the Confraternity of the Flagellants.
A few years later, in 1342, the church was passed on to the Augustinians and later to the nuns of the same order.
Since then, it is commonly known as the Friars’ Church.
It was restored and transformed several times, especially in the 18th century, with the expansion of the apse and the construction of the Marsoni Chapel, which features a magnificent altar with the statue of Our Lady of the Belt. The Stations of the Cross made by the School of Mosaic Art are a recent addition.

The interiors and the choir

The building has a rectangular plan and a gabled façade. The 1730 statue of St Augustine tops the portal, which dates back to 1523.
The church has a single nave (originally three), a truss ceiling, and three Gothic apses, which feature four mosaic eyes by Rino Pastorutti (1998).
But the true gem of this church is the Choir, considered a wood carving masterpiece of the Renaissance period. The choir was made between 1475 and 1477 by Marco Cozzi, and was originally located in the Cathedral. It was relocated here in 1959.
The church also houses a three-manual mechanical organ made by Gustavo and Francesco Zanin from Codroipo, which was located here in 1981.